Joining the O5R

Two bookstores have recently closed in my town, leaving Ink Spell (my favorite, and the home of the Bookstore Boys) the last one standing.  After one of the clerks told me that the D&D Starter Set has been selling so well they can’t keep it in stock, I decided that one way I can support them is to get back into running pick-up RPGs there — specifically, 5e, in hopes that it will encourage sales of the core books.  I had been on the fence about 5e for a while; the Basic Rules PDFs looked promising, but I had been reluctant to pay the hefty price tag to get my hands on the core books.

With a new sense of purpose, I picked up the PHB, DMG, and MM.  Based on my initial perusal, I’m excited.  The books look and feel great, and I really like what I see so far.  Thanks to my extended time spent with Barbarians of Lemuria, “new-school”-isms such as Inspiration points, Advantage/Disadvantage, and Traits/Ideals/Bonds/Flaws don’t bother me a bit.  I’m also very pleased to see that Feats are optional (they will be disregarded), and attacks of opportunity, the fiddly bit that killed 3e for me, are blessedly absent.

I’m definitely looking forward to running some sessions for the Bookstore Boys and my lunchtime library group, especially once I get my hands on the 5e Primeval Thule Campaign Setting I backed on Kickstarter.  It will be fun to get my hands dirty and tinker with the rules to suit my old-school tastes; it’s nice to see that there are plenty of like-minded folks already blazing trails

Leave a Reply

