[BoL] Anderavian Bestiary: Tatzelwurm

TATZELWURM

Strength 1  Agility 2  Mind -1  Terror 1
Attacks: Bite (+2, dmg 1d6-1 + poison), Claws x2 (+1, dmg 1d3)
Poison: STR check or take an additional 1d3 damage for the next 3 rounds
Defense 2, Armor 1d2, Lifeblood 10

The Tatzelwurm is a legendary beast native to the Alpine region, often described as a snakelike creature (2-6′ long) with bright glowing eyes and a vaguely feline head and clawed forepaws.  It typically feeds on livestock and wild animals, although Tatzelwurms have been reported to attack human travelers.  Tatzelwurms live and hunt in small packs and lair in hill- or mountainside burrows.  Some Anderavian legends also speak of a hypnotic quality to the Tatzelwurm’s large, luminous eyes, but these tales remain unconfirmed.

3 responses

  1. All this Anderavian stuff looks awesome, dude. Keep it up and keep having fun, too!

    Oh, and I’m glad BoL got the nod for this after the first session. It’s just such a great system. I assume the conversion from S&W went off without a hitch, but let me know if I’m wrong.

    10/03/2012 at 22:06

    • Thanks, glad you’re enjoying it! I agree with you about BoL — the more I use it, the more I love it… Changing over from S&W was really easy. The character conversion took 5 minutes or so, and I statted up the monsters and bandits on the fly. I sometimes wonder if my monsters are appropriately tough and dangerous, and it always helps to remind myself that the BoL versions of monsters don’t have to exactly reflect their D&D counterparts.

      10/04/2012 at 09:55

      • I’m glad to hear the translations to BoL were simple. And improvising monsters that “feel” right rather than are strict matches sounds like the right way to handle it. Keep that game going, dude, and be sure to let us know how it’s going. I myself need some inspiration 🙂

        10/04/2012 at 15:31

Leave a Reply

