New Year New Game

I was directed to the New Year New Game challenge by an Escapist blog post this morning.  It was a timely visit, as the last few days I’ve been mulling a “new year post” for this blog and thinking about gaming hopes and dreams for 2012.  What new systems, settings or campaigns would I like to run this year, even as one-shots?

  • Over the Christmas holiday I had a chance to re-watch one of my favorite fantasy movies, The Golden Voyage of Sinbad.  During the movie I kept thinking about how fun it could be to run a similarly-themed adventure.  I’d probably use BoL for the system and the Wilderlands’ Isles of the Blest region for the map and some hex descriptions.  I could actually see something like this happening after the Pter Nuum adventure wraps up, but time (and the PCs) will tell…
  • Fading Suns or Traveller: New Era 1248, two sf settings I really dig.  In either case, I’d double-up my new game accomplishments by running it with a different system: I’d most likely use Under the Moons of Zoon, Barbarians of the Aftermath, or Stars Without Number, but I’m not sure which.
  • On the boardgame/quasi-RPG front, reading about Lego Heroica at Grognardia and elsewhere has got my brain churning.  My 5-year old nephew is bananas about Legos right now, and I can’t think of a better “gateway drug.”  Contemplating picking up one of the sets, he may not quite grok the rules but we’ll see.
Leave a Reply

