planetary romance on the brain

It’s been quite a two-week stretch for science fantasy and planetary romance, between the John Carter trailer and some other game stuff I’ve been reading.

A couple weeks ago I received my print copy of Patrick Wetmore’s campaign setting/megadungeon Anomalous Subsurface Environment in the mail.  For those who aren’t already aware of this awesome piece of old-school gonzo-ness, the ASE’s city-state of Denethix and “Land of a Thousand Towers” exist in a “dinosaur- and wizard-infested” future Earth setting that seems like it would be well-paired with one of my favorite OSR offerings, Savage Swords of Athanor.  If ASE and a re-read of SSoA weren’t enough to set my easily-distracted gaming mind bounding along a science-fantasy track like John Carter over the landscape of Barsoom, I’ve also been looking through the impressive Under the Moons of Zoon planetary romance RPG; this indie game reads like a cousin to my beloved Barbarians of Lemuria, and I’m already looking to mine some bits and pieces from UMoZ for my Barbarians of Zhontaar game.

Of course, this is all meaningless without actual gameplay to keep the fires of interest stoked.  I can only hope that I can get some folks together for some tabletop action soon — it sure would be nice to finally resume the Pter Nuum adventure!

One response

  1. Thanks for the kind words on UTMOZ, I see your campaign has resumed…

    artikid

    12/06/2011 at 04:43

Leave a Reply

