Barbarians of… the Forbidden City?

Last session, BB started running a WEG Star Wars game for our group.  Since it seems rare that I’m not occupying the referee’s seat, I’ve had an especially good time interacting with the other players on that level.  I had also forgotten how much fun the d6 system is, since I haven’t played WEG Star Wars since 1998 or so.  Unfortunately BB can’t make it to the next session, so executing the plans I’ve hatched in my mind since last time will have to wait.  It also means I’ll be back in the hot seat on Sunday, so what to do?  Fortunately, it’s no big deal to switch gears and get back into referee mode — I had already been chewing on an idea for my next campaign, so now it just looks like I’ll be implementing it sooner than I anticipated.  (I’m also a little bummed that BB won’t be present for it, but that’s how it goes sometimes…)

I’ve been wanting to run Barbarians of Lemuria ever since I grabbed the Legendary Edition last summer.  I devoured the rules (along with those for the Barbarians of the Aftermath and Dogs of W*A*R variants), made notes, ran sample encounters, etc. but haven’t had the opportunity to actually referee an actual game.   Grognardia’s Dwellers of the Forbidden City retrospective planted a thought seed in my head a few months back that has recently sprouted and bloomed into this: an episodic mini-campaign that borrows elements from the Dwellers, Hidden Shrine of Tamoachan, and Expedition to the Barrier Peaks modules, as well as the pulpy adventure tales of Howard, Merritt, Brackett, et al.  Rules will be slightly-tweaked BoL with a few additional bits from BotA.  Some monsters will be adapted from old-school D&D, EPT and other sources.  I may steal some magic bits and spell effects from Talislanta, Elric! and the Bronze Grimoire, but I haven’t reached that point yet.  Players will have the choice of converting their D&D characters (temporarily at least) or creating new ones.  I’ve already fiddled with conversion ideas a bit; it shouldn’t be too tough for the fighter- and rogue-types, but wizards could have a more challenging transition due to BoL’s free-form magic system.  There’s quite a bit of legwork to be done, but I’m pretty excited.

More on this project over the next few days…

6 responses

  1. G-Man

    Over at Strange Stones, the Venemous Pao has been posting BRP conversions of memorable Dwellers monsters, such as the Bullywug and Mongrelman (only cleverly re-named). He’s BOL afficiando and the monsters would convert to that engine easily enough.

    01/30/2011 at 14:01

    • Hey G-Man, thanks for the tips. I follow Strange Stones but some of his BRP conversions have flown under my radar. I’ll check them out… So far the monster conversions have been really easy, but it’s always nice to see how other folks handle things.

      01/31/2011 at 12:50

  2. G-Man

    Dwellers of the Forbidden City is a natural for BOL, one I’ve often contemplated myself. It’s been described as the most pulp/S&S inspired module TSR ever produced.

    01/31/2011 at 21:52

    • Agreed, Dwellers just screams pulp to me. I seriously considered running it combined with Isle of Dread as an Indiana Jones-ish, A. Merritt-style “lost world” adventure using Dogs of War plus some additional Careers lifted from Call of Cthulhu. Maybe next time…

      02/01/2011 at 11:50

      • Maybe when Dicey Tales comes out I’ll run Isle of Dread or The Lost City…

        02/01/2011 at 11:51

  3. Pingback: Library Wilderlands game, 3rd session | the scroll of gnom-bientus

Leave a Reply

