Adventures in Tragic Millennium Europe

I’ve had Hawkmoon on the brain this last week.  The History of the Runestaff is one of my favorite series by Michael Moorcock, but I haven’t read it in at least ten years.  For those unfamiliar with the Runestaff series, its protagonist, Dorian Hawkmoon, is an incarnation of the Eternal Champion, a hero who figures prominently in the Multiverse-spanning cosmic struggle between Law and Chaos.  (Depending on the source, Hawkmoon is also an inspiration for a certain space rock band’s name.)  The action takes place in Tragic Millennium Europe, a distant-future-earth setting where medieval technology exists alongside monsters, mutants, flame-lances and the arcane super-science of a lost age.  Hawkmoon traverses this strange post-apocalyptic world, battles the evil Dark Empire of Granbretan, and faces all sorts of perils, adventures and intrigues over the course of the four-volume series.  If Elric is the only Moorcock you’ve read, I strongly recommend tracking down these books.  (And while you’re at it, the first Corum trilogy is pretty cool too!)

I’m obviously not about to drop my current games in favor of something more Hawkmoon-flavored, but it’s definitely something that’s on my radar these days.  Would it be a one shot with BRP?  With Barbarians of Lemuria?  Should I insert yet another dimensional portal in my intentionally-vague D&D mini-setting and nudge the players toward it?  Flesh out the mini-setting as part of some sort of Tragic Millennium Europe/Dying Earth crossover?  Will I do anything at all?  I’m not sure yet, but I’m curious to see how my thoughts develop as I re-read the novels this week.

Leave a Reply

