Whaddaya mean, it’s not in the dictionary?

There’s a fun post by Ryan Harvey on the Black Gate blog about D&D’s effect on his vocabulary, something that was probably experienced by just about any kid who was exposed to High Gygaxian prose.   I know it certainly affected mine.  Reading Gygax as a kid was, for me, a bit like my later experiences reading Lovecraft, Clark Ashton Smith, and several others in the sense that I would at times find myself reaching for a dictionary to figure out what the heck this guy was talking about.

In one of  the first Scrabble games I played with my wife, I played the Gygaxian words “weal” and “geas.”  I got away with “weal,” but had a much harder time defending “geas.”  It wasn’t in the Webster’s collegiate dictionary or the official Scrabble dictionary, and my attempts to convince her of the word’s real existence fell on deaf ears.  If I had a set of the 20-volume 2nd edition Oxford English Dictionary I would have won the challenge; I know because a couple days later I looked it up at the library.  One of these days I’ll acquire a set to have on hand in case I have to make a second defense…

One response

  1. Ye Ole Meta Harzach

    Mr. Gnome,

    I came across a good article on dweomer: phrontistery.info/disq6.html

    Ye Ole Meta Harzach

    07/15/2010 at 08:50

Leave a Reply

