music for dungeon crawling

Cheesy title aside, Brian “Lustmord” Williams’ dark ambient Heresy album has become one of my favorite dungeoneering soundtracks.  Not only is the music appropriately creepy, but it’s even based on field recordings made in caves, crypts,and other subterranean locales.

Albums by Peter Frohmader’s early projects Kanaan and Nekropolis are among my favorite examples of music that exists on the nebulous border between those ill-defined genres krautrock and space rock.  The first Nekropolis album, Musik aus dem Schattenreich, is particularly nice, dark atmospheric music for forays into dark places underground.

David Hykes and the Harmonic Choir’s beautiful debut Hearing Solar Winds is one of the few albums I’ve heard that sounds so simultaneously beautiful, soothing, weird, and alien sounding.  Great for inspirational listening to in the dark, or adding ambience to gaming scenarios set in temples, monasteries, and other places where guys in robes might be chanting or praying…

~ by J37.V37 on 12/18/2009.

4 Responses to “music for dungeon crawling”

  1. Cool recommendations and great dungeon music. I’ll have to bring up Lustmord to the other members of my metal band who laughed at my “recording in a cave!” idea.

  2. Heh, interesting stuff! I bought two of the albums, but Peter Frohmader’s album I could not find neither on iTunes nor on my local Swiss CD mail order shop. Any other of his albums you want to recommend?

    • Hi Alex,

      Thanks for visiting! The two Nekropolis live albums (The Awakening and Live 1983) are pretty good, albeit a bit different from Musik aus dem Schattenreich. I also strongly recommend his Kanaan Live 1975 album. I can’t really speak for the other Nekropolis albums; I’ve heard mostly good things, but I haven’t actually listened to them. You can find these titles here (search for “Nekropolis”): http://www.ohrwaschl.de/shop/Default.aspx

  3. Cool, thanks. I’ve ordered Kanaan Live. And I mentioned your blog over here: http://www.stargazersworld.com/2010/01/13/instant-soundtrack-for-your-cthulhu-campaign/

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

